Maine

A few years back, my family and I went on a vacation to Wells, Maine. I know it isn’t an ideal vacation hot spot like Florida, the Caribbean or Las Vegas but we wanted to do something out of the norm. I was immediately excited because we were getting away from Jersey for awhile and also LOBSTER! Anyone that knows me will tell you the eternal love I have for seafood. The 7 hour drive honestly gave me such anxiety deep inside but I put that to the side because hey, going on a vacation is pretty dope. I remember waking up at like 3:30am to get on the road to avoid traffic. (Perks of your dad being a truck driver, that trucker mentality does not leave him for a second.) The ride wasn’t too bad as I was asleep for most of it, thanks to Dramamine. Anyway, the second time I opened my eyes from sleeping, all I saw was a beautiful coastline, quaint little houses, and blue skies. An instant overflow of being at peace came over my body. I knew this was going to be a true vacation..

The cottage we stayed at was the cutest little abode ever. It had a nautical theme to the decor and had an awesome deck with a table and chairs that overlooked a vast field dotted with other vacation cottages and also the pool that came with the properties. Everyone who stayed in that group of cottages was able to use the pool so I guess you could say it was semi public. As I stepped outside of my dad’s car, I inhaled fresh air. FRESH AIR. Even the air smelled cleaner there but that was due to the fact that we were not in a major city obviously. I knew I was going to fall in love with Maine and everything about it.

Throughout the duration of our stay, I felt like I was on retirement after several long years of working hard. My family and I did do some pretty cool things such as take pictures across from this lighthouse along the coastline, went out to eat at Ogunquit Lobster Pound restaurant in which you were able to pick your own lobster from the tank, have a member of the staff weigh it and they would cook it and bring it to your table, and went to one of the beaches there. Our family met a woman who was vacationing there with her young daughter and husband. We all clicked instantly and exchanged contact information. We also indulged in lobster bisque, clam chowder and many other delicious eats Maine had to offer but a good portion of the vacation was spent in that adorable cottage. My dad and I polished two huge bottles of red wine that week, I read by the pool and on the deck during the day, and even rose earlier than the others to take in the sun rising early in the morning. Every day spent out there was just so relaxing, refreshing and peaceful. I had the usual feeling of not wanting to leave and return back to reality but this was oddly different.

I knew I wanted to come back here. One day.

Our last day there was a sad one. I wouldn’t say I’d live in Maine because it is too quiet for my taste honestly but would I pick it as a prime vacation choice? YES! Before we set back out on the road, we drove to one of the nearby beaches just to get a last glimpse of the gorgeous scenery. I remember sitting on that wooden bench staring out at the crashing waves and I felt something in me pull away gently and go out with the tide. I still to this day can’t pinpoint exactly what that was but all I know is traveling to Maine, being so far removed from everything routine and mundane did wonders for my soul.

I decided to blog about Maine because my sister randomly suggested we should definitely make an effort to travel out there this summer as a family. I couldn’t agree with her more and am praying to God/the universe it can happen.

Glad I chose to blog about happier times. It’s given me quite the emotional boost I needed. – Writer From Jersey

Leave a Reply

